Minecraft Blogs / Story

The sleepless Night (A true story)

  • 200 views, 3 today
  • 6
  • 3
Sophisticated_Trashcan's Avatar Sophisticated_Trashcan
Level 20 : Expert Dragon Ranger
63
Do you ever take things for granted? Even something so simple, like daylight... I sure did.

For some context, we where hiking part of the Appalachian trail.


I put my knife down with the rest of my stuff underneath my hammock for the night, the smell of rain coming from high in the mountains.

[​Redacted] called out to me from his nearby tent, asking if I wanted to play Phase Ten. I accepted the offer, even though I’ve never heard of the game.
I headed to the tent, my bare feet pitter pattering against the many rocks of our camp.
I zipped open the tent and sat criss-cross on a pad, rezipping the door.

I asked [​Redacted] how to play the game and he explained it to me. We played, the rain increased, the tent started to leak, and everything started to get wet. The wind was picking up now, and we decided we should go to the outhouse for shelter.
(The outhouse was concrete)
It was quite dark by now, so we all used our personal flashlights, mine being the dimmest of them all, I just left mine off and walked with [​Redacted].

Who cares about all this?? Ugh, so boring… Long story short, we got to the outhouse, and I eventually fell asleep for a few muinets on the floor

The rain was clearing up now, and we decided to go back to camp. It was about 11 maybe 12 by now.
While in the outhouse, [​Redacted]'s light died, so we were left with the dimmest light in the whole camp.
We got maybe halfway, before my legs just stopped instinctively, my hand on [​Redacted]'s shoulder prevented him from walking any further.

With wet hair in my eyes, my breathing increased as the glint of black fur sent my adrenaline to the highest levels. One thought popped into my mind, bear.
“Back up slowly. It hasn't seen us”
I whispered to [​Redacted] as the 500 pound bear was occupied with drinking water.

We started backing up, the bear just now noticing us, it walked towards us, smelling the granola bars in [​Redacted]'s pocket.
“Huy!”
I called out loudly, the bear stopping.
We backed up a bit faster, my hand still on [​Redacted]'s shoulder, the light shining towards the bear, and my head looking behind us to see where we were going.
After a bend, we turned around and walked faster than we've ever walked before, knowing that if the bear was still watching, and we ran, it'd trigger an attack instinct.

We got to the outhouse and locked the steel door with the dead lock
I look around at the concrete floor and ceiling, two pizza slice windows at the top of each wall, the roof being slanted and all.
The windows were reinforced with steel.
We started talking for a while, not being able to go to sleep on the hard concrete floor, and we got to know each other pretty well.

By then, dehydration and sleeplessness was getting to me. I thought I heard voices every other second, but every time it was just the sound of dripping water.

That's when we started hearing footsteps… big footsteps. Getting closer… and closer
I hoped I was just hearing things again, but that's when [​Redacted] confirmed my fear by saying;
“Do you hear that?”
It was no hallucination… There was a very big, and very real, black bear outside, and we couldn't do anything about it.
I tightened the grip on the rock I was holding, praying hard for us to stay safe.

That's when there was a thud against the wall, we both held our breath as the bear tried to find it's way in, wanting those tasty snacks in [​Redacted]'s pocket, and the only way for it to do that was… Well, y'know.
After what felt like hours, the footsteps eventually went away, and we were left in quietness. The perfect conditions to drive a man insane...

By then, we were just waiting for morning, so we both tried as hard as we could to just go to sleep. But concrete isn't very comfortable, especially when you've just saw a bear.
[​Redacted] fell asleep, and he sleeps like a rock.
I couldn't fall asleep, but I kept trying.
That is until I heard a rustling sound, I thought it was a rattlesnake slithering through the wrappers on the floor, I slowly lifted my head, but all I saw was a little mouse scurrying across the floor, it picked up a wrapper and started eating it.
At the same time I felt something crawl under my foot, I quickly lifted it up thinking it's another mouse, or some bug, but underneath was a tiny little salamander, it looked like a black worm with four legs and a frog-like head. It slowly crawled to the door, which the crack under it was stuffed with my raincoat save a few holes and cracks, and it just laid in the small pool of water in one of the folds.

What a Disney princess time I was having, right?
And [​Redacted] was just sleeping through it.

Even with the much welcomed distractions, it was... Very... Mentally scaring...
I waited there... Staring at the window, just waiting for day to come. Having nothing to do but wait... And wait... And wait...
But it seemed like it would never come! Just more darkness! I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR WHAT FEELS LIKE 10 HOURS!


By some miracle, we got back to camp eventually.
After the story got out to the others, I was basically a celebrity with the more little kids.
(It was a big 'ol group with two... Divisions? The 14 up, and the 12 up)

"If only I had my knife..."
I kept telling myself. But deep, deep down, I knew... It'd be futile against such a beast.
Tags

Create an account or sign in to comment.

Welcome