Fidelity Investments’ Post

View organization page for Fidelity Investments, graphic

978,540 followers

Tell us about your first summer job! Where was it and what did it teach you about money💰? Let's walk down memory lane together in the comments. #FidelityAssociate

Michael J. Perullo

NW Florida Realtor®, GRI, C2EX & CPA | Excellence in Execution, Every Time

2w

My first summer (of 1979) job was as an office and delivery boy. It was at Federal Travel Service on Federal Street in downtown Boston. I was 15, and I signed on for three weeks to organize eight five drawer brochure cabinets for destinations all over the world. It was 40 hours per week with one hour off for lunch. $105.00 was the weekly pay, and $98.51 was the 'net' after FICA and Medicare. I took the commuter rail from Hyde Park to South Station, and walked to the office. I culled and organized those forty drawers of brochures quickly, and was asked to stay another seven weeks until school started again. I did all kinds of things such as deliveries, mailing, I got everyone coffee and snacks, and I changed the water cooler bottle out front for the ladies. Eventually, the owner and his son got me involved in the accounting and financial side; I wrote checks, balanced ledger cards, sent out dunning notices, and prepared deposits. Getting the days receipts into the bank each day by 2:30 was paramount; I learned quickly that cash was how bills got paid, and how everyone's Friday paychecks cleared. From June 1979 until August 1985, I worked seven summers and every school break and even after school there. I learned a lot!

Alex Garay

Personal Financial Planning & Analyzing

2w

My father works for a Mom & Pop demolition company. Since I was going away for college, not many places wanted to hire someone for only the summer. My pops did me the favor to give a good word to the demolition company and thankfully was offered a chance to make a bit of money for college during the summer. From this experience, I quickly did the math and learned that there is a limit to how much I can make if the only source of income is my work hours. I was also grateful that the money I earned was enough to pay off most of my student loans by my graduation. The biggest lesson I learned was that hard work and initiative pay off. My boss appreciated my work ethic and go-getter attitude, and he offered me the chance to start working as a foreman's assistant. Training lasted only a few months, and eventually, they left me in charge of ensuring that demolition projects were completed on time. This promotion came with many benefits and a pay raise of almost $10/hr. With that, I was able to start my 401k, emergency fund, and IRA. This proves that taking initiative and honing your skills in a company can lead to more opportunities.

Like
Reply
J'aimee Ritchotte

Nonqualified Plans Implementation Project Manager at Fidelity Investments

1w

My first job was working as a farm hand at a horse stable where I took riding lessons at. I was in love with equestrian sports (a quite expensive hobby), and my parents couldn’t afford for me to ride more than once a week. I worked to offset my lessons and get extra riding time. My parents agreed to match me dollar for dollar on every bit I saved towards the purchase of my own horse. After a year, my dream came to fruition and I purchased my first gelding. Not only did I learn how to budget savings into my cash flow, I learned so much about a sport that I remain passionate about to this day!

Like
Reply
Ali tahir ahmad

· entrepreneur •Investment Associate

2w

Huge number of people have this conception not revealing there salary, why? ,,,, Well ever I get opportunity to work for name like which doesn’t need indroction, fidelity investments,, I would post it on likedin With a #proudly working for FIDELITY INVESTMENTS 👑 ,,,

Like
Reply

My first job was selling pet rocks at the cornerstone

Like
Reply
Brant R.

Financial Representative at Fidelity Investments

2w

My first job (2018) was a shelf stocker at my hometown Stop & Shop. I learned how rewarding it felt to work for every dollar. I also understood for myself the importance of contributing to society and my community not just through my work but also through my taxes.

Md.Rahamat Ullah

Tax, Company Matters , Accounts & Audit and Project Profile at Rahamat & Associates Ltd.( an independent consulting Law firm)

2w

Love this

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics