X

Google spreads Help me write across all of Chrome

Featured image for Google spreads Help me write across all of Chrome

We’re fast approaching a world where no one has to type anything. Generative AI can basically type up anything you need with just a little bit of context provided by you. After announcing some great generative AI features, Google is now distributing Help me write across all of Chrome. This feature is currently rolling out, so there’s a chance that you will be able to experience it if you live in the US.

What is Help me write?

Think of Help me write as your personal typing assistant. If you need to jot something down, but you can’t quite find the words, you can use the Help me write feature to help you out. For instance, if you are in Gmail, and you need to write an email to a client requesting a product to review, you can use the Help me write feature to generate the email for you in whatever tone you want.

Currently, Help me write  is available in Google Docs and Gmail. So, if you need assistance writing documents or emails, then Help me write is perfect for you. In order to access this feature, simply look for the little pencil icon on the left side of your document.

Help me write location

Help me write is now available across Chrome

A while back, we got the news that Google wanted to distribute Help me write across all of Chrome. This will put the generative AI power in your hands no matter what website you’re using. Well, in version M112 of Google Chrome, this functionality is finally making it to users.

In order to enable it, click on the three-dot menu at the top-right of your screen, go to your settings, and click on the Experimental AI page on the left side of the screen. There, you’ll have the option to enable Help me write.

Once you enable it, all you have to do is go to whatever text field you want to write in, right-click, and select the Help me write feature. This feature will use context awareness to scan the page and learn what you’re trying to write about.

For instance, if you’re writing a review about a product, Help me write will be able to scan the page to learn what product you’re writing about. Then, it will construct a review for you. However, you will have to tell the feature your thoughts and opinions on the product, so that it could turn that into a full review. What’s neat is that you could use this in Chrome on Mac computers as well as Windows computers.

If you’ve used AI text generators, then you should be familiar with how this feature works. You will describe what you want it to write including what sort of tone you want, how long you want to be, Etc.

Help me write chrome (1)
Help me write chrome (3)
Help me write chrome (2)
Help me write chrome (1)
Help me write chrome (3)
Help me write chrome (2)

Updating Chrome

If you don’t see this feature yet, you’ll have to make sure that your version of Chrome is on the latest update. Click on the three-dot menu, and go all the way down to the Help button.

You will see another drop-down menu pop up showing the About Google Chrome button. When you click on that, you will see the version of Google Chrome you have installed. If it’s under M122, you will see the browser start to update.