Meet the Team: Julien – Lead Community Operations

Join us as we sit down for an interview with Julien, also known as @bayoudog – our Lead Community Operations. 

What is the most satisfying aspect of your job?

Oh, many things are. I’ve been given a great team to make things happen, so that’s one. The game itself is an awesome mix of being so simple, and so obvious, while at the same time so complex and deep; it’s a challenge and pleasure to work on it. When we come up with a plan, and then it all comes together from all the teammates working on it. For sure, it does provide a great feeling. And yes, of course, something which also shows results to what you did: when you see how much you and your team’s actions contributed to populate a server and make sure you lead as many people as possible to their fun. In the job, nothing beats that.

What type of games do you play the most?

For years I played mostly online strategy and shooters. For my work, I must have tried every browser strategy out there. But I also played some for fun. Shooters, well, nothing wrong with that in general, and nothing better than that to take the pressure off after a long hard day. For years now, I’ve been playing intensively RPGs that combine several mechanics, from character customization to shooter, resource/base management, etc. I also enjoy a good “strict” city builder and even a tower defense once in a while.

What is your favorite childhood video game?

I had the chance (and the demise) to be the proud owner of a NEO GEO game station when I grew up. A present that came out of nowhere, really. However, games were so expensive I only had the one that came with it. But I had a friend who was spoiled rotten and had an amazing collection. One day he showed up at my door and said, “dude, I’m going to Japan for a whole year, here are all my NEO cartridges, have fun.” Eternal gratitude to him, as you can imagine. Probably the one I played the most then was “Samurai Shodown” (the typo has always been there), a fabulously brutal and bloody 2d fighter with katanas, swords, etc. (I had the Japanese import, uncensored version).

What is your background, and how did you end up being the LCO of Travian: Legends?

Now that you mention it, I have been kind of all over the place. I started in music, I taught guitar and harmony. It was great. Then I moved to the US for a while, where I worked in construction, plumbing, and such, anything I could get, really. Got a license, and I went into sales and account management in an insurance company, where I found out that if you own the right state permit, you are legally entitled to rob and cheat people. Which is why I moved on. Back in France (where I’m from, by the way), I was a journalist for a while and then ran a public relations and one-man communication agency.

Then about 13 years ago, I got proposed to put together a CM and CS service for an online game company. You may wonder how or why since it wasn’t really my background. Well, I played their games a lot, and since I was in the town where they had their HQ one day, I knocked on their door and asked to speak with the CEO. I told him he and his team had no idea about what they were doing and proposed to completely turn it around. He didn’t go for it immediately and instead offered to hire me to train his team to speak/write English, at first, while CMing a modern strategy game for the French community. A year after I was Head of Operations and in charge of the entire team. I loved the challenge. And I think, above all, I loved that this was so new and we had to really invent everything. I did this for a while, then went into business development for the same firm.

I switched companies and became product manager for a portfolio of browser games – we had been bought by a bigger fish and I changed role/responsibilities. Did this for 8/9 years and then last year, I was proposed to join the Travian family as their LCO for Rail Nation. Very interesting job profile, multipurpose, hybrid, between CM and marketing, a lot of knowledge and experience required. So I joined! Super game and super fun. Until I was proposed to become Legends LCO last December. And you don’t say no to Legends. Which I’m glad I didn’t, as it is the healthiest and best environment I worked into this day.

What is your greatest guilty pleasure?

Honestly? Well, you asked so… I’ll come clean! Fancy single malt scotch and a cigar. Grilling something outside and picking fresh herbs right on the spot to season your bbq is both fancy and as simple as it gets. Probably why I enjoy it so much.

How many languages do you speak?

None. Seriously, none fully or like I wished I did, but a bit of French, English. I have some base of Spanish and German, but if I had to rely solely on either, I would probably go hungry fast or miss every appointment, bus, train, doctor’s visits, etc.

What is the greatest challenge for you as the LCO?

There are many challenges on a daily basis. One maybe at the top of the list would be to be the strong link between the game developer and the community. I think if I could become something like, let’s say… Adam Smith’s invisible hand; like if I wasn’t there at all but could secure at all times the best and most profound relationship between the guys in charge of the game and the ones who play it, I’d be happy. You know? Put your ego where it belongs: in the toilet. What’s important is what you do, not what you can say about it.

Do you remember the day you received the most critical lesson in your career?

I don’t think I’ll ever be able to forget. I once gave a presentation to the board and managers before Travian. I thought everything was going well, presented clearly and also good in itself, I mean good “numbers” etc. The owner asked me to stop. He asked if my mother worked in the gaming industry. I couldn’t understand where he was going with that, but I said, “huh, no, she’s a school teacher.” And then he said: “well, that’s enough for today. Next meeting, when you present, consider you are presenting to your mother and you make sure that she understands everything you say – everything, for a person who doesn’t know the job.” Well, it felt a bit brutal, but in the end it helped me to stay clear, short, and understandable and to drop the mumbo-jumbo stuff that people use too often to sound smart and superior.

What is the best book you’ve ever read?

Seriously hesitating. Either Flaubert’s “Salammbô” or Joyce’s “Ulysses”. I recommend both without restraint.

The zombie apocalypse starts now. What’s your weapon within arm’s reach?

Hmmm, my heart hesitates between the cat, which could be a great blunt/scratch weapon if thrown precisely, or a picture of my ex-wife. But this last one might be a bit overkill, even for an apocalypse.

Thank you so much for this entertaining and fun interview, Julien! 

+1
0
+1
1
+1
6